Superstar Whitney Houston is dead.  Her friends, fans, and followers are in mourning.  The singer/actress was seen about town last week with ex-boyfriend Ray J.  Today, the biggest names on the planet Tweet their R.I.P.’s and thoughts on the singing legend whose many problems with drugs is widely known. Her ex-boyfriend and great friend Ray J’s Twitter is silent as is his sister Brandy who celebrated her birthday today.  Superstar Mariah Carey tweets heartfelt message and changes profile pic to one of her and her friend, Whitney, so did Wyclef Jean.

Terry McMillan who wrote “Waiting to Exhale and her co-stars are understandably in shock.

xxx

Tweets

deeply saddened by the death of Whitney Houston…may she rest in peace >> bit.ly/yNudvn

PDIDDY had just Tweeted his 4.8 million followers about the values of family and how short life is. Then he found about about Whitney.

Tweets

Whitney Houston!!! OMG!! I really can’t believe this.. This is one of the saddest days ever..

Life is shorter than you think. Don’t waste time on bullshit! Pls!!!! 🙂

@ddodds18 I have 6 beautiful humble kids!!!!! God is the Greatest! God bless your kids! 🙂

xxx

xxx

Tweets

She will never be forgotten as one of the greatest voices to ever grace the earth.

My heartfelt condolences to Whitney’s family and to all her millions of fans throughout the world.

Heartbroken and in tears over the shocking death of my friend, the incomparable Ms. Whitney Houston.

xxx

Tweets

We have lost another legend. Love and prayers to Whitney’s family. She will be missed.

xxx

Nicki Minaj @NICKIMINAJ

Jesus Christ, not Whitney Houston. Greatest of all time.

xxx

Tweets

Whitney Houston. What a sad tragedy-the end of the life of an incredible talent. RIP to an amazing singer and legend.

xxx

Tweets

Ray J found Whitney Houston on his sister Brandy’s birthday … a prayer for him

RT @yvettenbrown: Wow… 😦 Here she is singing just this past Thursday w/ @KellyPrice4Real her lashttp://bit.ly/wlK8wB “Yes.Jesus Loves Me”

Praying for Whitney Houston’s family. Especially her daughter Bobbi Kristina

Whitney I hope you found the peace in Heaven that you could never seem to find down here. RIP Ms. Houston “where do broken hearts go”

#WhitneyHouston dead at 48 … I can’t believe it… I’m sitting here absolutely in shock… hard to breathe right now #senseless #death

xxx

Tweets

with her, forever. This is truly unbelievable. My prayers and condolences to her family at this sad time.

inspiration to me. She has always had sweet and fun words to say to me. I will cherish the moment I was able to share (cont)

RIP Whitney Houston. A Legend lost:( Her voice was insurmountable, her smile was illuminating, she was truly one of a kind and a huge(cont)

xxx

Tweets

The voice of an Angel, the Heart of a Lamb, the spirit of a Lioness, the presence of a Goddess, love you R.I.P Whitney Houston

This is the saddest thing I’ve ever had to write in my life, R I P to one of the greatest humans that I have ever known Whitney Houston

xxx

Tweets

Just heard the tragic news that Whitney Houston passed away. I pray for her daughter & loved ones. We will always love you Whitney…

Tweets

Today is my Moms birthday and her Hero just passed away we feel like she was a part of our family. RIP Whitney we Love u.

Tweets

“To be absent from the body is to be present with the Lord” RIP to Whitney Houston a true queen.” via @NickCannon #RIPNippy

Whitney: Thank You. You gave so much to us. Inspired the world. #soundtrackofmylife #iwillalwaysloveyou

Please please please don’t let this be true…..

xxx

Tweets

just heard the news. so crazy. One of the GREATEST VOICES EVER just passed. RIP Whitney Houston. My prayers go out to her friends and family

xxx

Tweets

My deepest sympathies and prayers go out to her daughter, her mother and to all of her loved ones.

She embraced me when I first started out with Destiny’s Child, with love, with encouragement and with that powerhouse voice.

I am beyond heartbroken. Whitney Houston was undoubtedly one of the greatest singers & performers of all time & such a huge influence on me.

xxx

Tweets

20m Montel Williams Montel Williams @Montel_WilliamsRest In Peace Whitney Houston-She was a true talent and my heart goes out to her family.
MOB WIFE
Renee Graziano @reneegraziano Rip WHITNEY HOUSTON beautiful nbeyond talented. ALL MY PRAYS GO OUT 2 HER DAUGHTER!!!!!
xxx

Tweets

RIP Whitney Houston.

TWEETS

Kevin Hart @KevinHart4real

My prayers go out to her family & friends!!! I’m speechless right now……RIP Whitney Houston

I just Heard that Whitney Houston passed away 2day, I want everyone 2 remember her for what she was & that’s a LEGEND & A music Icon! RIP

xxx

Tweets

Whitney Houston is gone! This is so tragic. I remember when she burst on the scene with that powerful,… fb.me/1mbdUttYu

xxx

Tweets

I’m so sad to hear of #WhitneyHouston‘s passing. May she rest in peace. My prayers & condolences to her daughter & family. 4ever remembered.

xxx

Tweets

I am so sad to hear about Whitney. We have lost one of the greatest singers of all time.

xxx

Tweets

I am devastated. I am absolutely devastated at the news about Whitney Houston. Such a tragic, tragic loss.

Paris Hilton @ParisHilton

Life is so short and precious. Live everyday as if it were your last…

So sad to hear the news about Whitney Houston. 😦 She was such a beautiful and talented woman. My heart goes out to her family. RIP

xxx

weets

Her range seperates her from the rest, maybe C. Aguilerra to RT @TopherDaTiger: @ochocinco Where does she rank as singers for you personally

Grandma n Evelyn woke me up to the sad news on the passing of Whitney Houston, if there was a voice to represent that of an angel she’s it.

This is total bull droppings, my pisstification level is 10. Nothing to do, I’m going to bed. Tweet y’all at 5am

xxx

Melanie Amaro @ItsMelanieAmaro

I sing as strong as I do now because of you Whitney 😥

I love u sooo much Whitney Houston 😥 u will always be in my heart and my mind an my soul your music made me the girl I am today 😦

She told me to carry on the torch 😦 I didn’t know what that meant but now I know I must continue to sing with all my heart like she did

I refuse to believe that I JUST met one of my two idols for the first time and 3 days later she is dead !!! Lies !!!! I won’t believe 😥

Eve

Eve

@TheRealEve

THE WOEve @TheRealEve Wow R.I.P Whitney Houston. So sad. My prayers go out to family,friends,fans…

Tweets

She was A TALENT & A LEGEND. She was never a “reality star” No jokes from me about Miss Houston today.

xxx

Tweets

Thank u 4 the times we worked 2gether your Voice touched the World! N this rough time I pray for The Houston Family…

This is such a sad moment! I’m speechless I have no words of what I’m feeling right now. Rest in Peace Whitney Houstan I love u.

Tweets

rip 2 a Legendary Diva, Icon, Mother & Friend Whitney Houston. 1 of the greatest voices ever. u will be truly missed. R.I.P Whitney Houston

Arsenio Hall

Arsenio Hall

@ArsenioOFFICIAL

Stand Up/Actor/Host

HALLYWOOD

Arsenio Hall @ArsenioOFFICIAL

SPEECHLESS!!! Whitney Houston / 1963 – 2012 [[[RIP]]]

Tweets

R.I.P. Whitney Houston. Our prayers go out to Bobbi Kristina and her family.

Tweets

She’s paved the way for every single singer in the music industry. Iconic, legendary, innovating, amazing, humble…1 the best in the world

My heart is weeping…RIP to the Legendary Diva & Icon Whitney Houston!!!!! Such an incredible influence over music as a whole!

Tweets

RIP Whitney Houston =-( Prayers go out to her family & loved ones

Terry McMillan @MsTerryMcMillan

Whitney added beauty to the world. She took nothing from it.

My deepest condolences to Whitney Houston’s family and friends. I first met Whitney when we were in Rome on… fb.me/1B1vKQ5PF

Retweeted by Terry McMillan

Rip whitney my heart is broken. I can’t wrap my mind around this. The loss is too great.

Retweeted by Terry McMillan

Oh Dear Lord! Huritng so Bad!!! MY Sister Whitney!!!!!!! Newark please Pray!!! World Please Pray!

Retweeted by Terry McMillan

I’m going to pray. Done tweeting.

I’m sad, hurt and angry. Because I did not want to see her leave us. Period.

Terry McMillan @MsTerryMcMillan

I am not thinking about the damn movie. So please, don’t ask.

I’ve dreaded this happening.

Terry McMillan @MsTerryMcMillan Fuck.

Noooooooooooooooooo. No. I’ve just been praying that she stayed healthy. And not for a stupid movie.

Faith Renée Evans @faithevans

@Crystal_Wright: Father, in the name of Jesus I thank you that Whitney’s daughter is covered and protected by … m.tmi.me/lN5oL

@lfurlough I meant it like, “Biggie Smalls is the illest!”… I understand opinions, but she was a dynamic person to have known!

My prayers & love to Krissi, Cissy, Michael, Gary & Pat Houston & all of #TEAMNIPPY who were there over the years! Love you Bobby Brown!

KhloéKardashianOdom @KhloeKardashian

I will always love you Whitney Houston

Just heard Whitney Houston passed away 😦 many prayers go out to her family and all who are grieving the loss of an icon. So sad… RIP

Tweets

Very sad news about Whitney. My heart and prayers go out to her daughter and family.